Hello all,

In this post, I will be talking about types of hearing loss. As you guys know that I have mentioned my hearing loss – sensorineural, which is one of the hearing loss that will be mentioned in this post. There are three types of hearing loss, they are: sensorineural, conductive and mixed.

Sensorineural Hearing Loss

It is the result of damage to the hair cells within the cochlea or the hearing nerve or it could be due to the natural process of ageing otherwise known as prebycusis. Sensorineural hearing loss does not only change the loudness of sound but the quality as well, thus making it a struggle to understand speech. Once the cochlea hair cells die or gets damaged, they will stay damaged therefore sensorineural hearing loss is irreversible and cannot be cured at present time. More causation to sensorineural hearing loss are; genetic, exposure to loud sounds, rubella and more if you read action aid.

In my case my hearing loss is caused from recessive genes and it is from birth that I have this hearing loss for. I have struggled with understanding speech for many years and I still do now, I’m talking in terms of how one enunciates a word and it depends on how deep is ones accent i.e. for me I have always struggled understanding some English accents like the Liverpudlian, or the newcastlians.

Conductive Hearing Loss

Essentially it is sounds that cannot pass freely to the inner ear this could be due to blockages in the middle or outer ear due ear wax, fluid from an ear infection, otosclerosis (abnormal growth of bone in the middle ear) or an ruptured eardrum. With this hearing loss sounds become quieter but not usually distorted and it can be temporarily or permanent. If you really want to know what it sounds like then just plug your ears with ear plugs or fingers and it will mimic the sounds.

Mixed Hearing Loss

Mixed hearing loss is a combination of both sensorineural and conductive hearing loss, it can be in both ears or in one ear. Or it can be in one ear and the other might be without a hearing loss.

Thanks and I’ll see you in a week

DAG

